919-772-6440 | Find a Business | Login



Greater Neuse River All-conference Teams

  • Share:
March 17, 2017

The Greater Neuse River Conference has released its all-conference teams and coach and player of the year awards for the 2016-17 boys basketball, girls basketball, swimming, wrestling, indoor track and field and cheerleading seasons. Awards were voted on by the league’s coaches.

In boys basketball, conference champ Garner took top honors with coach Eddie Gray and senior Alex Reed winning coach and player of the year awards. In girls basketball, Rolesville senior Jaylin Powell won player of the year while Knightdale coach Trent Bunn claimed coach of the year.

Harnett Central’s Trenton Wallis won boys swimmer of the year while East Wake’s Gary Allmon was coach of the year. In girls swimming, Clayton’s Cara Martin won swimmer of the year and Rolesville’s Logan Brendle won coach of the year.

In wrestling, Southeast Raleigh coach Michael Vassil was coach of the year and Rolesville’s Matt Mims was wrestler of the year. Alexander Perry of Southeast Raleigh and Clayton’s Deondra James were also honored as top wrestlers from the conference tournament.

In gymnastics, West Johnston’s Abigayle Harris and coach Margaret Morgan swept the top awards. Emma Shumaker of Harnett Central was the cheerleader of the year while West Johnston’s Sarah DeGruchy won coach of the year.

Read more here: http://www.newsobserver.com/sports/high-school/article138794013.html#storylink=cpy

Read more by clicking the link below.

Mike Blake, Garner Cleveland Record